## THETIS ISLAND COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

April 24, 2021 2:00 p.m. – Via Zoom

- 1. Call to order and Welcome to Members: President Ron Bannister
- 2. Membership Report and Confirmation of Quorum: There are 368 members eligible to vote. Fifty members attended the meeting. Don Sinclair reported that this meets the criterion of 5% membership attendance for a quorum.
- **3. Meeting Details**: Kelly Bannister and Marjan Jackman (Zoom co-hosts) explained how the meeting will run and the voting procedures.
- 4. Adoption of Agenda: Ron amended a typo in the agenda changing approval of the 2018 minutes to approval of the 2019 minutes. Motion to adopt the agenda moved by Shirley Burr, seconded by Julian Jackman. Carried.
- **5.** Approval of minutes of Annual General Meeting April 25, 2019: Moved by Wendy Hinsperger, seconded by Julian Jackman. Carried.
- 6. Approval of the September 26, 2020 Extraordinary General Meeting minutes: Moved by Shirley Burr, seconded by Julian Jackman. Carried.
- 7. Presidents/Board of Directors' Report: President Ron Bannister thanked the donors and volunteers who have given for their help with the expansion of the community centre. He presented TICA's draft organizational chart.

## 8. Approval of 2019 and 2020 Financial Statements-

• 2019 Financial Statement was not passed as an AGM was not held in 2020 due to COVID. Motion to approve the 2019 Financial Statements moved by Matt Hess, seconded by Julian Jackman. Carried.

• 2020 Financial Statement – Motion to approve the 2020 Financial Statement moved by Matt Hess, seconded by Julian Jackman. Carried.

9. Motion to ratify the transfer of \$25,000 from the Operating Fund to the Expansion Fund for construction of a new septic system– Ron explained the rational for the board transferring funds and requested membership approval. Motion moved by Carolyn Askew, seconded by Julian Jackman. Carried.

## 10. Special Resolution requiring a 2/3's majority: Motion to repeal Section 22 of the TICA bylaws and replace it with the following:

- (1) A member in good standing is entitled to one vote.
- (2) A family membership in good standing is entitled to two votes.
- (3) Voting is by
  - (i) show of hands or secret ballot, if requested
  - (ii) mail

- (iii) email or other electronic means
- (vi) proxy
- (4) Voting rules for using these methods will be determined at the discretion of the board of directors prior to the meeting or voting.
- (5) A member may appoint a proxy holder. An appointment of a proxy holder(i) must be in writing and must comply with any other requirements set out in the bylaws,

(ii) is, unless the bylaws provide otherwise, valid only at the meeting for which the appointment is given or at any adjournment of that meeting, and(iii) may be revoked at any time.

- (6) A member may hold no more than three proxy votes.
- (7) A proxy must be a member of the society and may be an individual under the age of 19 years.
- (8) Proxies may not be used to establish a quorum.

Motion moved by Teresa Moore, seconded by Julian Jackman. Votes cast = 50. Votes in favour = 46. The two-thirds requirement for a Special Resolution was met. Motion carried.

- 11. Motion to increase TICA membership fees from \$75 to \$100 for families and \$38 to \$53 for singles effective January 2022. Moved by Wendy Hinsperger, seconded by Don Sinclair. Carried.
- **12. Election of Officers and Directors:** Election was conducted by Wendy Hinsperger, TIRRA chair. Wendy moved that the nomination of directors be closed. Carried. There are seven vacant positions and five nominees for these positions. The two vacant positions may be filled by the directors.

Elected by acclamation:

| President          | Ron Bannister- term ends 2022   |
|--------------------|---------------------------------|
| Vice President     | Don Sinclair – term ends 2022   |
| Secretary          | Teresa Moore – term ends 2023   |
| Directors at Large | Marjan Jackman – term ends 2022 |
|                    | Briana Sloan – term ends 2023   |
|                    | Vacant - term ends 2023         |
|                    | Vacant - term ends 2023         |

**13. Adjournment** Moved by Carolyn Askew that the meeting be adjourned at 3:15 p.m.